Which Texas representatives voted towards the Respect for Marriage Act

AUSTIN (KXAN) — The Senate handed laws Tuesday that strengthens federal protections for same-sex marriage after being authorized by the Home in July. A majority of Texas Republicans voted towards the measure, whereas Texas Democrats voted in favor.

The Senate voted 61 to 36 to go the Respect for Marriage Act, with 12 Republicans advancing the invoice within the Capitol together with all Democrats current. The measure wants 60 votes to go.

Two Republican senators from Texas, Ted Cruz and John Cornyn, each voted towards it on Tuesday.

The Home of Representatives handed its model of the invoice in a 267-157 vote in July, with 47 Republicans supporting the measure together with each Democrat current. Seven Republicans didn’t vote.

when. . .when Home votes in July, 22 Republican Texas delegates voted no, one voted sure and one didn’t vote. All 12 Democratic delegates voted in favor.

Right here’s a breakdown of how they every voted:

Space symbolize reunion vote
First Louis Gaummert republicans Don’t
second place Dan Crenshaw republicans Don’t
third place Van Taylor republicans Don’t
fourth place pat fallon republicans Don’t
5 days Lance Gooden republicans Don’t
sixth jack elzie republicans Don’t
seventh Lizzie Fletcher democrats Sure
quantity 8 brady kevin republicans Don’t
No.9 Al Inexperienced democrats Sure
tenth Michael T. McCall republicans Don’t
quantity 11 August Flueger republicans Don’t
twelfth Kay Granger republicans Don’t
thirteenth ronnie jackson republicans Don’t
14th randy webb republicans Don’t
fifteenth Vicente Gonzalez democrats Sure
sixteenth Veronica Escobar democrats Sure
quantity 17 Pete Classes republicans Don’t
No. 18 shelia jackson lee democrats Sure
No. 19 Jody Arrington republicans Don’t
twentieth Joaquin Castro democrats Sure
twenty first chip roy republicans Don’t
twenty second Troy E. Niles republicans Don’t
twenty third Tony Gonzalez republicans Sure
twenty fourth Beth Van Duen republicans Don’t
twenty fifth roger williams republicans Don’t
twenty sixth Michael Burgess republicans Don’t
twenty seventh michael cloud republicans Don’t
twenty eighth Henry Cuellar democrats Sure
twenty ninth Silvia Garcia democrats Sure
day thirtieth Eddie Bernice Johnson democrats Sure
thirty first john carter republicans Don’t
No. 32 Colin Allred democrats Sure
No. 33 Mark Vesi democrats Sure
No. 34 Melaflores republicans Don’t
No. 35 Lloyd Docter democrats Sure
36 days Brian Babin republicans no vote

Whereas the invoice doesn’t absolutely defend the rights granted by the Supreme Court docket’s 2015 Obergefell v. Hodges resolution, which legalized same-sex unions, it does defend some rights ought to that call be overturned.

With the addition of amendments, the invoice will go to the Home for a second time. If authorized, it should journey to President Biden to signal it.

Leave a Comment